Waiiit!!!! STOP! Live!! 

on

I was told by my parents that I almost died, when I was a child. I tried to swallow the bottle top of coke. We used to call it canta then,lol. Story summary, I couldn’t breathe properly, my father had to hook the bottle top with his finger, I bled through my nose, my mother thought I was dead, they rushed me to the hospital, my eyes were white, somehow I was saved. Yaaayyyy!!! 

Moral lesson of this story :long nails are essential in times of crisis. Lol. Back to the matter though. I often wonder, what if I die tonight? Would anyone say I lived? I mean, I know I’m alive. My heart pumps blood, my lungs carry out the respiratory processes, my limbs work fine. The question however remains, did I live? Or was I another being in existence? 

Do you live? Are you just a lonely traveller in this road called life? Are you a tourist admiring the amazing scenery?  Are you just going through the motions? Passing days? Watching in wonder as life takes place? Do you live?  

Life, like the earth is in a state of constant rotation. Some people rotate with it,so much so they have no base. Some have gotten dizzy and spun out of rotation. Some fight against the rotation and rotate at their own frequencies. And there are the passive ones, who neither fight nor rotate,they just exist. 

Which are you? Another photocopy of the trends? A remnant of past trends? Do you create your own trend? Or are you just an alive person? Don’t be just an alive person, they die, decay and are forgotten. Life is an angry sea, determined to erase all existence. And it will. Life cannot however, erase the ones who lived, only the ones who existed. 

Dare to be different! Live out yourself. Let life feel your existence. Dare to live,not just exist. If, you do, you will find that the people who live never truly die. Life is meant to be lived, not passed through. So, live, reader, live. Go to your grave as empty as possible. Knowing that you have given all that you have and more, possibly. Don’t just be another person breathing yourself to death. 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. UnmaskedMe says:

    Wonderfully written. Loved the inspiration. Amazing post. Keep it up!! 💙💙

    Liked by 2 people

    1. _Peacie says:

      Thank you so much

      Liked by 1 person

    1. _Peacie says:

      Thank you!!!

      Like

  2. dbeautifuldreams says:

    Indeed 👐🏾

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes! I have an irrational fear of just existing. So many of us do and I think we push ourselves to have to most fun or the best job or the biggest adventures – which is great! But at the same time we shouldn’t be too hard on ourselves if we’re not living life to the absolute max.
    If we think back to our grandparents, for most of the working class at least, they did do what we would call existing – Very very few luxuries. But did they have this fear of missing out or just existing? I don’t believe so, and my grandparents would probably be offended by me even saying this. It’s more about how expectations have changed.
    Of course living life to the full doesn’t always cost money but as someone who doesn’t value materialistic things but loves to keep busy – yes! This definitely does still cost money! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. _Peacie says:

      Living is more finding your purpose and making a mark and less finding enjoyment to me. And that is what I tried to portray in the post. Define your life and live actively. Thank you for the feedback though. Much appreciated.!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “Canta”…reminds me of my childhood​ days and our Nigeria way of describing objects and things around us. I’m glad you didn’t die, it simply means there is a lot more God wants you to accomplish. Oftentimes we get so overwhelmed with problems and challenges that we forget to live. I choose to live and not to exist. I’m inspired. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. _Peacie says:

      I like to tell myself that us Nigerians are extremely creative. Thank you so much!

      Like

      1. You are welcome

        Like

  5. An Amazing and thought provoking post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. _Peacie says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure 😊☺

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Nehl con says:

    Once again Peace delivers a very nice piece

    Liked by 1 person

    1. _Peacie says:

      Thank you so much

      Like

Leave a Reply

